For charity, after all, is just a word.

“The little bum was sitting crosslegged at his end before a pitiful repast of one can of sardines.  I took pity on him and went over and said, ‘How about a little wine to warm you up?  Maybe you’d like some bread and cheese with your sardines.’
‘Sure thing.’ He spoke from far away inside a little voice-box afraid or unwilling to assert himself.  I’d bought the cheese there days ago in Mexico City before the long cheap bus trip across Zacatecas and Durango and Chihuahua two thousand long miles to the border of El Paso.  He ate the cheese and bread and drank the wine with gusto and gratitude.  I was pleased.  I reminded myself of the line in the Diamond Sutra that says, ‘Practice charity without holding in the mind any conceptions about charity, for charity after all is just a word.’”  — The Dharma Bums, Jack Kerouac 

As a way to get the ball rolling, and when I need a little inspiration, I like to type out some of my favorite passages from some of my favorite books. 

Leave a Reply

