Embrace Your Dreams

“Cherish your visions and your dreams, as they are the children of your soul, the blueprints of your ultimate accomplishments.” –Napoleon Hill

Sometimes I struggle with the choice of staying on this path I’ve chosen, or “growing up.”  For a long time I thought I was putting off adult hood, afraid of what to do after I graduated college, but then I realized in following my dreams and writing, being artistic and creative; I’m not putting off responsibilities.  I’m embracing who I am.

I write intangible.  I write fantasy.  I write obscure.  My soul is not concrete, rather, it has layers.  I wouldn’t go so far as to say it shifts, instead I would say it’s like that of a budding flower (maybe that’s the feminist in me).  As I grow it begins to open exposing more and more petals as the outer petals continue to grow, and finally exposing its center.  A center filled with love, nourishment and life.  I dream in how I write and it may not be commercial and it may not be easy to grasp, and at times it may border on trite, but that’s who I am.  That is my art, my contribution.  Instead of putting my energies into something I deem insignificant, I would rather focus on what I love; and watch that flourish, if only for myself.

Leave a Reply

