Fresh. Action.

“I don¹t believe you have to be better than everybody else. I believe you
have to be better than you ever thought you could be.”
– Ken Venturi, super-famous golfer.

Sometimes I feel like I’m not living up to myself, to my expectations of my own capabilities. Not just career-wise, but life-wise as well. And I think the reflection of that in my personal life is clear. The way I interact with and treat others is usually in direct relation with how much I liked the last sentence I wrote, how much writing I got done that day or if I got to work on something I loved or was just doing for the money. And more often than not I don’t feel like I give work, or even life, my best.

But life, like Veda*, is a wiggly little worm and its body ebs and flows as it inches across the sizzling hot pavement trying to get to the cool protection of the grass before its little body is burnt up by the sun. And by that, I just mean feelings of inadequacies and lost time and potential come and go.  Soon I’ll feel back on top of the world, or at least Austin.

Today, by the way, is my birthday.  At the beginning of 2014 instead of making a resolution, I decided- at the urging of the wonderfully inspiring Deb Hamilton, to choose a word I wanted to live up to each day.  A word I would repeat to myself and encourage my life to embody.  I chose “fresh”.  And while I think I’ve done a fairly decent job living “freshly”, I think its time to amend my word- or at least add to it.  My 29th year will be the year of action.  Fresh Action.

take-action

I have a lot in the works right now and its time to get out of the slow lane on a few projects and make a mad dash to the finish line.  So, publishing companies, be on the lookout for my first lifestyle book.  Mommies and daddies, be on the lookout for my first children’s book*, to be self-published. And Austin,be on the look out for a celebration of all the is Austin art and culture!

One comment

Leave a Reply

